Breast cancer: self-checking saves lives, it did mine!

Professional photographer Linda Mellor attending annual mammogram, breast cancer check

Professional photographer Linda Mellor attending annual mammogram, breast cancer check

Yesterday I visited the Queen Margaret Hospital in Dunfermline for my annual Mammogram.

During a self-check three years ago I found a small lump. The subsequent examinations/xrays found the lump to be harmless but they did discover cancerous tissue in other breast – there was no lump, no signs, no pain or discomfort whatsoever. I had a small operation to remove the cancerous tissue. Although I was given the all clear, the consultant wanted me to have radiotherapy treatment, I did my research and refused as negatives outweighed the positives in my case.

I am very thankful I had early detection and the disease removed. Each year I attend the mammogram appointment with positivity and courage, this photo was taken on my phone before I went into the hospital.

So girls, always check your breasts and speak to your GP if you have any concerns. This life-saving service is available to all of us.

One Comment

  1. Congratulations Linda, not only for sharing this experience in such a positive and helpful way but also for airing the subject in public. In addition of course blokes can suffer from this too. Finally having recently been diagnosed with prostate cancer I am finding it really difficult to get my own brothers to get checked for that too. Gentlemen readers please note! Talk about it!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

